what a scam...
Elaborate eBay FRAUD happening right now... be warned
Complex eBay scam will probably net a few victims
04-10-2003 08:43:26 AM CST -- from the SNP mailbox
Our friends over at www.root-core.org passed along this eBay scam that is making the rounds today. Although eBay scams are happening everyday, this one is particularly well layed out and will probably sucker quite a few eBay users because of the work that has gone in to creating this 'sting'. They not only registered a domain name, www.ebayv.com, but as well they cut and pasted major sections of the real www.ebay.com web site to this 'fake domain'. They then cut and pasted the wording of the user agreement to con folks into going to the fake eBayv.com domain and update their information.
A quick visit to the domain showed that it is alive and well - and has not been shut down yet by the authorities. One of the major problems with the folks at the REAL eBay is that it is next to impossible to send email to them to alert their security department of these frauds in a timely manner. In fact the attempts by the real eBay to hide or shield their security folks from contact by users or people who might want to report a felony in progress works greatly to the scammers and fraudster's advantage. I took the time to try to look up the registrar and where the fake ebayv.com was hosted, but even that left me more confused then certain about where the domain was truly hosted at. I have attached a copy of the SCAM email that is being forwarded to eBay users. See what you think and take a guess how many folks will fall for this well layed out scam :
the fake site:
http://www.ebayv.com/
this is the message sent to customers
-----------------------------------
from:suspension@ebay.com
subject:FPA NOTICE: eBay Registration Suspension - Section 9- [your email address]
-----------------------------------
Return-Path: <suspension@ebay.com>
**Received: from capitol.rdsct.ro (81.196.163.5)**
-----------------------------------
Dear [your ebay name] ([your email]),
We regret to inform you that your eBay account has been suspended due to concerns we have for the safety and integrity of the eBay community.
Per the User Agreement, Section 9, we may immediately issue a warning, temporarily suspend, indefinitely suspend or terminate your membership and refuse to provide our services to you if we believe that your actions may cause financial loss or legal liability for you, our users or us. We may also take these actions if we are unable to verify or authenticate any information you provide to us.
Due to the suspension of this account, please be advised you are prohibited from using eBay in any way. This includes the registering of a new account.
Please note that this suspension does not relieve you of your agreed-upon obligation to pay any fees you may owe to eBay.
To update your member profile copy and paste the following link in your web browser, after you pass the account verification process, your account will be enabled for further use.
&password=suspended&verification=1]http://www.ebayv.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI/info...&verification=1
Regards,
Safeharbor Department,
eBay Inc
Sponsored by: █ Sparkhost - Hosting Without Compromises! █ Hybrid Performance Web Hosting █ Spark Host Stream Hosting █ Hybrid IRC & IRCd Server Shell Accounts
Security alert FAKE eBay site
Started by
Kenny
, Apr 10 2003 10:14 AM
2 replies to this topic
#1
Posted 10 April 2003 - 10:14 AM
#2
Posted 10 April 2003 - 11:48 AM
I have to give it to them it is a good design
Subscribe To Our RSS Feed For the Latest News from GovernmentSecurity.orgWould you like to earn money posting on GSO?
#3
Posted 10 April 2003 - 06:36 PM
yeh 10/10....wonder how much they made upto now....just shows you how easy it is using cut and paste and a spider tool
crazy
crazy
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users












