2 replies to this topic

#1 Booster2ooo

Booster2ooo

Sergeant

• Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 25 May 2010 - 01:42 AM

Hi there,

I've been coding PHP for a year or two and, recently, I read some papers about PDO and prepared statements. It seems that prepared statements (which are going to be the stantard in PHP 6?) are 1. very effective in term of execution time and ressources loading and 2. unaffected by SQLi. As I'm still a big noob in SQL, I didn't made the test and I believed the things I read.

So, do you guys use prepared statements? Is it that effective for time/ressources ? Is it really secure ?

#2 Booster2ooo

Booster2ooo

Sergeant

• Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 25 May 2010 - 05:07 AM

Prepared statements can help increase security by separating SQL logic from the data being supplied. This separation of logic and data can help prevent a very common type of vulnerability called an SQL injection attack. Normally when you are dealing with an ad hoc query, you need to be very careful when handling the data that you received from the user. This entails using functions that escape all of the necessary trouble characters, such as the single quote, double quote, and backslash characters. This is unnecessary when dealing with prepared statements. The separation of the data allows MySQL to automatically take into account these characters and they do not need to be escaped using any special function.

src: http://dev.mysql.com...statements.html

...When the data is handed to PDO like this, it then either passes the data on to the database driver directly, or builds the query internally in a safe manner with any potentially malicious data encoded or escaped. As you can see, this is an easy way around the problem of SQL injection.