Blankdo you know that www.slimeware.com is a paranody site with no real coproation behind it, the fellow who wrote this program has a real good sence of humor
-----Original Message-----
From: Swearingen, Bill W [CC] [mailto:bill.p.swearingen@mail.sprint.com]
Sent: Tuesday, August 24, 2004 01:01 AM
To: ald2003@users.sourceforge.net; full-disclosure-admin@lists.netsys.com
Subject: RE: [Full-Disclosure] Possible New Malware....
Sensitivity: Confidential
Taking a look at RunDLL32e.txt shows the name "slimeware corp"
Doing a google search I found http:// www. slimeware. com/downloads.htm
In their License Agreement they state this:
* This is a legally binding agreement between yourself "you" and Slimeware Corporation "Slimeware".
< OTHER DETAILS SNIPPED>
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: full-disclosure-admin@lists.netsys.com [mailto:full-disclosure-admin@lists.netsys.com] On Behalf Of Aditya , ALD [ Aditya Lalit Deshmukh ]
Sent: Monday, August 23, 2004 10:04 AM
To: Full-Disclosure@Lists. Netsys. Com
Subject: [Full-Disclosure] Possible New Malware....
Importance: High
Sensitivity: Confidential
Hi List, Possible new malware makes startup entries and copies itself to the windows folder this is where it was found, creates a CurruntPowerProfile reg startup key with a value of Rundll32.exe,powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme2.exe cant find anything else that it is doing except that it is written in VB anyone willing to have a look at it ? the files are attached as they are just ~ 40 KB -aditya ( simply ren *.txt to *.exe )
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Tue Aug 24 2004 - 07:06:09 EDT