[eXPhase
I just got this file sent over msn wich I attached, from a members.chello.nl adress.

I downloaded it, for further investigation... Kaspersky didn't pick it up as a virus so maybe someone here could take a look at it. Don't know if it can do any harm, but I don't like pif files sent over MSN ph34r.gif

[edit]
Woei, another one: http://members.chello.nl/h.keuth/w00t!.pif


This one said Ownage

[/edit]
sk3tch
Thanks for posting this!!!

I submitted it to the AV vendors. It wasn't detected by any of the scanners I have on hand, either!
sk3tch
Getting some returns back from vendors, it is a Bropia variant.

Kaspersky - IM-Worm.Win32.Bropia.j
Trend Micro - WORM_BROPIA.S
Symantec - W32.Bropia.P

From Trend Micro -

QUOTE
Like the earlier BROPIA variants, this memory-resident worm spreads copies of itself via MSN messenger, a popular instant messaging application, using attractive file names.

It also drops a JPEG picture file in the folder where it executes. It opens the image with Internet Explorer (IE).


From Computer Associates -

QUOTE
FILE                                      CONCLUSION         
------------------------------------------------------------------------
msn.zip                                  clean                             
------------------------------------------------------------------------
\msn\paris-hilton.pif                    confirmed malware                 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
pic.jpg                                  clean                             
------------------------------------------------------------------------
exe.exe                                  confirmed malware                 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
\msn\w00t!.pif                            confirmed malware                 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
pic.jpg                                  clean                             
------------------------------------------------------------------------
exe.exe                                  confirmed malware                 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.

 
Invision Power Board © 2001-2005 Invision Power Services, Inc.